Maddux, Glavine, Thomas lead Baseball Hall of Fame ballot

Nov. 26, 2013 at 4:46 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

NEW YORK, Nov. 26 (UPI) -- Pitchers Greg Maddux and Tom Glavine, with six Cy Young Awards between them, and two-time MVP Frank Thomas are new names on the Baseball Hall of Fame ballot.

There were no players voted into the Baseball Hall of Fame for the 2013 induction class. Craig Biggio, the top vote-getter in the latest balloting, is among 17 players returning for the 2014 ballot.

There are 16 new names, in addition to Maddux, Glavine and Thomas, on the ballot.

A player must be listed on at least 75 percent of the returned ballots from voting members of the Baseball Writers Association of America to gain induction into the Hall of Fame. Results from the voting are to be announced Jan. 8.

Biggio was named on 68.2 percent of the ballots last year, 39 votes short of induction. Other high finishers were Jack Morris (67.7 percent), Jeff Bagwell (59.6 percent), Mike Piazza (57.8 percent) and Tim Raines (52.2 percent).

Maddux won four consecutive National League Cy Young Awards over 1992-95. He had a 355-227 record with a 3.16 earned run average of 23 years in the major leagues. His 355 wins come in eighth all-time.

Glavine took home his Cy Young Awards in 1991 and '98. He was 305-203 with a 3.54 ERA in 22 seasons.

Thomas finished with 521 home runs -- tied for 18th all-time -- in 19 seasons. He hit .301 over his career with 1,704 runs batted in. He was voted the American League Most Valuable Player for the 1993 and '94 seasons.

Other players on the Hall of Fame ballot for the first time are: Moises Alou, Armando Benitez, Sean Casey, Ray Durham, Eric Gagne, Luis Gonzalez, Jacque Jones, Todd Jones, Jeff Kent, Paul Lo Duca, Mike Mussina, Hideo Nomo, Kenny Rogers, Richie Sexson, J.T. Snow and Mike Timlin.

Others returning on the ballot are: Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Edgar Martinez, Don Mattingly, Fred McGriff, Mark McGwire, Rafael Palmeiro, Curt Schilling, Lee Smith, Sammy Sosa, Alan Trammell and Larry Walker.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories