McCutchen, Cabrera named MVPs

Nov. 14, 2013 at 8:00 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

NEW YORK, Nov. 14 (UPI) -- Pittsburgh outfielder Andrew McCutchen and Detroit third baseman Miguel Cabrera were named baseball's most valuable players Thursday.

McCutchen became the first Pittsburgh player to win the National League MVP award since Barry Bonds received the honor in 1992. Bonds went on to win the award five times as a member of the San Francisco Giants.

McCutchen received 28 of the 30 first-place votes in balloting among members of the Baseball Writers Association of America. Arizona first baseman Paul Goldscmidt and St. Louis catcher Yadier Molina each received one first-place vote.

Molina finished second in the overall balloting.

Cabrera won the American League award for the second straight year, finishing in front of Los Angeles Angels outfielder Mike Trout both times.

McCutchen batted .317 during the 2013 season with 21 home runs, 84 RBI, 97 runs and 27 stolen bases.

Cabrera led the American League in hitting (.348) and was second in home runs (44) and RBI (137). Baltimore's Chris Davis, who led all of baseball in home runs (53) and RBI (138), was third in the balloting.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories