Cabrera wins second MLBPA Player of Year Award

Nov. 5, 2013 at 9:24 AM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

NEW YORK, Nov. 5 (UPI) -- Miguel Cabrera, who led the major leagues in batting average in 2013, was voted his second consecutive Player of the Year award by the players' union.

Cabrera won the award, decided by a vote of the Major League Baseball Players Association, after hitting .348 with 44 home runs and 137 runs batted in in 148 games. Cabrera helped the Tigers to a 93-69 record and the AL Central pennant.

Cabrera won the 2012 MLBPA Player of the Year award after winning the hitting Triple Crown.

He was also voted the American League Outstanding Player and Pittsburgh's Andrew McCutchen won the National League Outstanding Player honor for a second consecutive season. McCutcheon hit, .317 with 21 home runs and 84 RBI.

Detroit's Max Scherzer -- the only 20-game winner in the majors in 2013 -- and Clayton Kershaw of the Los Angeles Dodgers claimed the MLBPA pitching honors while Tampa Bay outfielder Wil Myers was voted the AL Rookie of the Year and Miami pitcher Jose Fernandez took the NL Rookie of the Year award.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories