Brad Keselowski bests Kasey Kahne for first 2013 Sprint Cup win

Oct. 13, 2013 at 12:57 AM
share with facebook
share with twitter

CONCORD, N.C., Oct. 13 (UPI) -- Defending Sprint Cup champion Brad Keselowski finally won his first race of the 2013 series Saturday, outpacing Kasey Kahne at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Keselowski won for the first time since September 2012 at Dover despite having to make an extra pit stop after earlier leaving his pit stall with the tire jack still attached to his car.

He overtook Kahne with nine laps to go and beat him to the finish line by 1 second for his 10th Sprint Cup career victory. He won five times during his championship season last year.

Kahne, who led for 138 laps, settled for second place in the fifth of 10 Chase for the Sprint Cup Championship events.

Matt Kenseth finished third and improved his Chase lead over fourth-place Jimmie Johnson from three to four points with the result.

Kyle Busch claimed the fifth spot, followed by Kevin Harvick.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories