Harvick wins first Sprint Cup pole in seven years

Oct. 4, 2013 at 7:58 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

KANSAS CITY, Kan., Oct. 4 (UPI) -- Kevin Harvick won his first pole in 254 races Friday, leading the qualifying for the Hollywood Casino 400 at Kansas Speedway.

Harvick, who is fourth in the 13-driver chase for the Sprint Cup championship, turned in a lap speed of 187.526 miles per hour. He had not sat on the pole of a Sprint Cup race since September, 2006 at New Hampshire.

Sunday's race will be the fourth of 10 in the series that will determine the year's champion. Points leader Matt Kenseth, who qualified sixth, has won the last two races on this track.

Ricky Stenhouse will be on the outside of the first row after qualifying with a speed of 187.480 mph. Jimmie Johnson, who trails Kenseth by eight points in the chase for the title, qualified third.

The rest of the Top 10 was made up of Brad Keselowski, Joey Logano, Dale Earnhardt, Jr., Kenseth, Paul Menard, Carl Edwards and Denny Hamlin.

Kyle Busch, third in the chase behind Kenseth and Johnson, qualified 18th.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories