Baseball's All-Star Game set for Tuesday

July 15, 2013 at 8:49 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

NEW YORK, July 15 (UPI) -- Baseball's All-Star Game will be played for the 84th time Tuesday with players from the National League seeking their fourth consecutive victory.

The game will have a heavy New York Mets flavor since the contest will be played in their ball park, the ace of their staff will open on the mound and franchise hero Tom Seaver will throw out the honorary first pitch.

National League Manager Bruce Bochy of San Francisco announced Monday the Mets' Matt Harvey would be his team's starting pitcher. Harvy will be the first pitcher to start an All-Star Game in his own stadium since Roger Clemens did so for the Houston Astros in 2004.

Harvey has compiled a 7-2 record this year with a 2.35 ERA. He has struck out a league-high 147 in his 19 starts.

Detroit Manager Jim Leyland said the American League would open the game with Max Scherzer.

Scherzer won his first 13 decisions of the season before suffering a loss to Texas last Saturday. Detroit's Justin Verlander started last year's All-Star Game and this will be the first time in 23 years the same team has supplied back-to-back starters for the contest.

This game marks the 10th anniversary of a decision that supplied extra focus on the event. In 2003 Commissioner Bud Selig decreed that the game would determine which World Series club would have home-field advantage when baseball's championship is determined in October.

Only three times since then has the team with the home-field advantage lost the World Series.

Tuesday's game will open with left fielder Mike Trout of the Los Angeles Angels facing Harvey. Trout will be followed in the AL lineup by New York second baseman Robinson Cano, Detroit third baseman Miguel Cabrera, Baltimore first baseman Chris Davis, Toronto right fielder Jose Bautista, Boston designated hitter David Ortiz, Baltimore center fielder Adam Jones, Minnesota catcher Joe Mauer and Baltimore shortstop J.J. Hardy.

The National League lineup will be made up of Cincinnati second baseman Brandon Phillips, St. Louis right fielder Carlos Beltran, Cincinnati first baseman Joey Votto, New York third baseman David Wright, Colorado left fielder Carlos Gonzalez, St. Louis catcher Yadier Molina, Colorado shortstop Troy Tulowitzki, Colorado's Michael Cuddyer as the designated hitter and Washington center fielder Bryce Harper.

The current three-game National League winning streak has followed a 13-year stretch in which the American League won 12 times and there was a one tie.

Trending Stories