Hockey Hall of Fame induction class announced

July 9, 2013 at 4:53 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

TORONTO, July 9 (UPI) -- Former NHL players Chris Chelios, Scott Niedermayer and Brendan Shanahan have been elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame.

They will be inducted as the class of 2013 along with former Philadelphia Flyers Coach Fred Shero and Canadian women's hockey player Geraldine Heaney. Ceremonies are scheduled for Nov. 11 in Toronto

Chelios was on three Stanley Cup-winning teams in his 26-year NHL career, which included stops in Montreal, Chicago, Detroit and Atlanta. He won the Norris Trophy as the league's best defenseman three times, scored 185 goals and had 763 assists in his career,

Niedermayer won four Stanley Cups -- three with the New Jersey Devils and the other with the Anaheim Ducks -- in 18 seasons. He was voted the Norris Trophy in 2004 and ended with 172 goals and 568 assists.

Shanahan's teams in Detroit won the Stanley Cup three times. He played for New Jersey, St. Louis, Hartford, Detroit and the New York Rangers before ending his career back with the Devils in 2008-09. His 636 goals is 13th-most all-time.

Shero's Flyers teams won back-to-back Stanley Cups in 1974 and '75. Overall as a coach he was 390-225-119.

Heaney was a member of the Canadian hockey team that took silver in the 1998 Olympic Games and the gold medal in 2002. She is the third woman elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame, joining Angela James and Cammi Granato

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories