Ryan Hunter-Reay cruises to Milwaukee Mile IndyCar victory

June 15, 2013 at 9:29 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

WEST ALLIS, Wis., June 15 (UPI) -- Ryan Hunter-Reay defended his Milwaukee Mile crown Saturday, posting a 4.8-second margin of victory at the IndyCar Series race.

Hunter-Reay collected his second Milwaukee victory in two years after grabbing the lead from Takuma Sato with 53 laps remaining and cruising from there.

He finished well ahead of current points leader Helio Castroneves and became the first driver to win back-to-back IndyCar races at Milwaukee since Tony Kanaan accomplished the feat in 2006-07.

His victory -- his second of the year -- also gave Andretti Autosport a fifth title in the last nine races at the Wisconsin track.

Hunter-Reay grabbed second place in the IndyCar standings with the result, 16 points behind Castroneves.

Will Power claimed third place while E.J. Viso and James Hinchcliffe completed the Top 5.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories