Hewitt again having success at Aegon Championships

June 14, 2013 at 2:42 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

LONDON, June 14 (UPI) -- Unseeded Lleyton Hewitt won in a three-set upset Friday in quarterfinal play at the Aegon Championships tennis tournament in London.

Hewitt, who won the tournament three times from 2000 to 2002 and again in 2006, defeated third-seeded Juan Martin del Potro 6-2, 3-6, 6-2. Hewitt didn't allow del Potro a break chance in either the first or third sets in advancing to the tournament semifinals.

No. 1-seeded Andy Murray, who won championships in 2009 and 2011, stopped Benjamin Becker 6-4, 7-6 (7-3) in his quarterfinals. Becker broke Murray's serve three times but Murray ended up with four breaks.

Marin Cilic, the No. 5 seed, edged second-seeded Tomas Berdych 7-5, 7-6 (7-4). There was just one break in the match as both players took 70 percent of the points on serve.

No. 4-seeded Jo-Wilfried Tsonga claimed the final place in the semifinals, beating Denis Kudla 6-3, 6-2 in less than an hour. Tsonga fired off 13 aces and won more than three-quarters of the points on serve.

Murray and Tsonga are paired against each other in one semifinal. Murray has won seven of their eight career meetings. Hewitt was a straight-set winner over Cilic in the 2012 Olympics, the only time the two played each other.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories