Will Power wins pole for Texas IndyCar race

June 7, 2013 at 9:17 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

FORT WORTH, Texas, June 7 (UPI) -- Will Power rocketed around the Texas Motor Speedway for a two-lap average of 219.182 miles per hour Friday, giving him the pole for the Firestone 550.

The IndyCar race will be held Saturday on one of the fastest 1.5-mile tracks in the country.

It was the second pole of the year for Power and the 31st of his career, which puts him in a tie for seventh all-time with Dario Franchitti and Sebastien Bourdais.

Power has not won in the series in 14 months and has finished no better than fifth this year.

Marco Andretti qualified second at 217.553 mph, followed by defending series champion Ryan Hunter-Reay, Franchitti and E.J. Viso.

They will be followed on the starting grid by Helio Castroneves, Josef Newgarden, Charlie Kimball, Ed Carpenter and James Jakes. Alex Tagliani, who won the pole each of the last two years in Texas, qualified 22nd in the 24-car field.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories