St. Louis among finalists for Lady Byng Trophy

May 16, 2013 at 11:33 AM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

NEW YORK, May 16 (UPI) -- Chicago's Patrick Kane, the Islanders' Matt Moulson and Tampa Bay's Martin St. Louis were announced Thursday as finalists for the NHL's Lady Byng Trophy.

The award, first given in 1925, is meant to honor the NHL player who exhibits sportsmanship and excellence on the ice.

St. Louis, who had 43 assists and 60 points in winning the Art Ross Trophy as the NHL's leading scorer, is a Lady Byng finalist for a sixth time. He won the award in 2010 and '11.

Moulson is an award finalist for the second consecutive year. He was called for just 4 penalty minutes in 47 games. He had 15 goals and 29 assist in helping the New York Islanders reach the playoff for the first time since 2007.

Kane was fifth in the league with 23 goals and 55 assists and was called for 8 minutes in penalties as the Blackhawks won the Presidents' Trophy. Kane is a Lady Byng finalist for the first time.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories