Matt Kenseth claims STP 400 for second straight Kansas Speedway win

April 21, 2013 at 6:25 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

KANSAS CITY, Kan., April 21 (UPI) -- Pole-sitter Matt Kenseth fended off Kasey Kahne down the stretch Sunday to claim the STP 400 and his second straight victory at Kansas Speedway.

Kenseth, after leading for 163 laps, had to push hard to nose out the hard-charging Kahne, finishing just 0.15 seconds in front for his second title of the year and 26th of his Sprint Cup career.

Kenseth, in his first season driving the No. 20 Toyota for Joe Gibbs Racing, also won at Kansas in October, before it was repaved and reconfigured with new turns.

Current points leader Jimmie Johnson took third place while Michael Waltrip Racing teammates Martin Truex Jr. and Clint Bowyer completed the Top 5.

Kyle Busch and Joey Logano were involved in a crash on the 104th lap when Busch hit the outside wall. His car then took out Logano on the apron.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories