Federer, Murray advance at Australian Open

Jan. 15, 2013 at 8:23 AM
share with facebook
share with twitter

MELBOURNE, Jan. 15 (UPI) -- Second-seeded Roger Federer and No. 3-ranked Andy Murray both rolled to first-round wins Tuesday at the Australian Open.

Federer won three-quarters of the points on serve in a 6-2, 6-4, 6-1 win over Benoit Paire. Federer saw only three break points -- one after the first set -- and saved them all. He cashed in half of his 12 break-point opportunities.

Murray opened Tuesday's schedule with a solid 6-3, 6-1, 6-3 defeat of Robin Haase. He piled up eight breaks and won 53 percent of the points off Haase's serve while taking two-thirds of those on serve.

Sixth-seeded Juan Martin del Potro and No. 7 Jo-Wilfried Tsonga also advanced in straight sets. Del Potro was on the court only 76 minutes in dispatching Adrian Mannarino 6-1, 6-2, 6-2 and Tsonga got by Michael Llodra 6-4, 6-5, 6-2.

Tsonga's French countryman Gael Monfils ousted 18th-seeded Alexandr Dolgopolov 6-7 (7-9), 7-6 (7-4), 6-3, 6-3 in one of four upsets Tuesday. Also, Jarkko Nieminen edged No. 19 Tommy Haas 7-6 (7-3), 4-6, 6-3, 6-4, 8-6; Daniel Brands advanced over 27th-seeded Martin Klizan 6-3, 3-6, 6-3, 6-4; and Blaz Kavcic eliminated 29th-seeded Thomaz Bellucci 6-3, 6-1, 6-3.

Ninth-seeded Richard Gasquet, another Frenchman, beat Albert Montanes 7-5, 6-2, 6-1 while No. 12-seeded Marin Cilic defeated Marinko Matosevic 6-4, 7-5, 6-2. No. 13th-seeded Milos Raonic got by Jan Hajek 3-6, 6-1, 6-2, 7-6 (7-0) and No. 14-seeded Gilles Simon rallied to beat Filippo Volandri 2-6, 6-3, 6-2, 6-2 in other matches with high seeds.

Other seeded players moving into the second round with wins Tuesday were No. 17 Philipp Kohlschreiber, 21st-seeded Andreas Seppi, No. 25 Florian Mayer and 30th-seeded Marcel Granollers.

Unseeded winners Tuesday included: Bernard Tomic, James Duckworth, Go Soeda, Joao Sousa, Jesse Levine, Ivan Dodig, Jeremy Chardy, Benjamin Becker, Ricardas Berankis, Nikolay Davydenko, Amir Weintraub, Lu Yen-Hsun, Alejandro Falla, Rajeev Ram, Lukas Rosol and Denis Istomin

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories