Manning, Rodgers lead NFL Pro Bowl picks

Dec. 26, 2012 at 9:02 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

NEW YORK, Dec. 26 (UPI) -- Quarterbacks Peyton Manning of the Denver Broncos and Green Bay's Aaron Rodgers headed the list of NFL Pro Bowl selections revealed Wednesday.

Manning -- making the Pro Bowl for the 12th time -- will guide the AFC squad and Rodgers will do the signal-calling for the NFC at the annual event, to be held Jan. 20 at Honolulu's Aloha Stadium.

Other quarterbacks selected to the Pro Bowl included Houston's Matt Schaub and Tom Brady of New England for the AFC, along with Atlanta's Matt Ryan and Washington rookie Robert Griffin III on the NFC side.

San Francisco landed the most selectees with nine, followed by Houston with eight.

AFC running backs chosen included Houston's Arian Foster (starting), Kansas City's Jamaal Charles and Baltimore's Ray Rice.

Meanwhile, Minnesota's Adrian Peterson will start for the NFC, with Seattle's Marshawn Lynch and San Francisco's Frank Gore also making the squad.

Detroit's Calvin Johnson and Chicago's Brandon Marshall will be the NFC's starting wide receivers, while A.J. Green (Cincinnati) and Andre Johnson (Houston) will take the field for the AFC.

The starting Pro Bowl tight ends will be New England's Rob Gronkowski and Tony Gonzalez Atlanta.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories