3-champ group marks Women's Open pairings

June 29, 2012 at 3:43 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

FAR HILLS, N.J., June 29 (UPI) -- The last three winners of the U.S. Women's Open, including 2011 titlist Ryo So-yeon, will be in the same group for the first two rounds of the 2012 edition.

Ryo defeated Seo Hee-kyung in a playoff last year to win the U.S. Women's Open. She'll be joined with 2010 champion Paula Creamer and 2009 winner Ji Eun-hee for the first 36 holes of next week's tournament.

They are to start from the 10th tee at 9:06 a.m. EDT Thursday.

Starting at the same time at No. 1 is a group that includes two-time U.S. Women's Amateur winner Danielle Kang, who has since turned professional. In her group are Natalie Gulbis and Lee-Anne Pace.

Four of the Top Five-ranked players in the world have Thursday afternoon starts. That includes World No. 1 Yani Tseng, who has won five major tournaments but never the U.S. Women's Open. She's grouped with Choi Na-yeon and Suzann Pettersen, who are fourth and fifth in the world.

The 2012 U.S. Women's Open is being played at Blackwolf Run in Kohler, Wis.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories