U.S. team named for Olympic women's hoops

March 30, 2012 at 9:43 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

COLORADO SPRINGS, March 30 (UPI) -- Sue Bird, Tamika Catchings and Diana Taurasi were named to their third U.S. Olympic women's basketball team Friday.

USA Basketball announced the first 11 members of the team that will represent the United States in London this summer. The Americans will be trying for their fifth straight Olympic gold medal.

The team will also include Swin Cash, Seimone Augustus, Sylvia Fowles and Candace Parker, each of whom will be on the squad for the second time. Olympic rookies will include Tina Charles, Angel McCoughtry, Maya Moore and Lindsay Whalen.

"The USA Basketball Women's National Team program has been able to sustain an unparalleled level of success in Olympic competition," said Jim Tooley, USA Basketball executive director and chief executive officer. "That is due, in part, to the continuity of its players. We believe we have selected the best core group possible to continue our success on the international stage. These 11 players include a great mix of international veterans, whose leadership is invaluable to the team, and we have young players who have proven themselves and who are hungry for this opportunity."

A 12th member will be selected at a later date.

The American squad will be coached by Geno Auriemma, whose Connecticut team has reached the Final Four of the NCAA Women's Tournament. Bird, Cash, Charles, Moore and Taurasi have all played for Auriemma.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories