Sierra, B. Williams on Hall of Fame ballot

Nov. 30, 2011 at 3:42 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

NEW YORK, Nov. 30 (UPI) -- Outfielders Ruben Sierra and Bernie Williams are among 13 names added to the ball sent to voters for the Baseball Hall of Fame, it was announced Wednesday.

Williams played 16 seasons -- all with the New York Yankees. Sierra was a 20-year major-leaguer, including in 2003-05 when he and Williams were teammates.

Last year second baseman Robert Alomar and pitcher Bert Blyleven were voted into the Hall of Fame while shortstop Barry Larkin and pitcher Jack Morris were listed on at least half of ballots submitted.

Other first-year names on the ballot are: pitchers Terry Mulholland and Brad Radke; outfielders Tim Salmon, Jeromy Burnitz and Brian Jordan; second basemen Tony Womack, Bill Mueller and Eric Young; third baseman Vinny Castilla; catcher Javy Lopez and infielder-catcher Phil Nevin.

Other players, in addition to Larkin and Morris, returning to the ballot for 2012 are first basemen Don Mattingly, Fred McGriff and Mark McGwire; outfielders Dale Murphy and Tim Raines; shortstop Alan Trammell; third baseman-designated hitter Edgar Martinez; and starting pitcher and relief pitcher Lee Smith.

Players may stay on the ballot for up to 15 years provided they receive 5 percent of the vote each year.

To win induction into the Baseball Hall of Fame, a player must be listed on at least 75 percent of the ballots turned in by members of the Baseball Writers Association of America. BBWAA members with at least 10 consecutive years of tenure in the association are eligible to vote.

Results of the Hall of Fame voting are to be announced Jan. 9.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories