Bulls celebrate championship anniversary

March 11, 2011 at 12:10 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
5 of 5
| License Photo

CHICAGO, March 11 (UPI) -- The Chicago Bulls said 11 of the 12 players from the 1990-91 season will attend the weekend celebration of the championship season's 20th anniversary.

The team said former stars including Michael Jordan, Scottie Pippen, Horace Grant and John Paxson will be present during an extended halftime ceremony Saturday to honor the 20th anniversary of the first of the Bulls' six NBA championship wins during the 1990s, the Chicago Tribune reported Friday.

Bill Cartwright will not be in attendance due to his duties as assistant coach for the Phoenix Suns.

"I'm looking forward to seeing who's going to come back," Jordan said. "I want to see if everybody's fat just like me. It should be fun."

The 1990-91 Bulls went 61-21 during the regular season and 15-2 in the post-season to win the first of three consecutive titles, dubbed the "three-peat." The Bulls would earn a second "three-peat" starting with the 1995-96 season.

"I can't believe it has been 20 years," Grant said. "It seems like it was just yesterday myself, Scottie, Bill, MJ, John Paxson and all of us were running up and down the court. But it has been 20 years."

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories