Vonn, Lysacek honored by USOC

Jan. 25, 2011 at 12:48 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
1 of 2
| License Photo

COLORADO SPRINGS, Jan. 25 (UPI) -- Skier Lindsey Vonn and figure skater Evan Lysacek were honored Tuesday as the top athletes of 2010 by the U.S. Olympic Committee.

It was the second consecutive Sportswoman of the Year award for Vonn, who won a gold medal at the Winter Games in the downhill and took the bronze in the super-giant slalom. She also won her third consecutive World Cup overall title in 2010.

Lysacek took the gold medal in men's figure skating at the 2010 Olympics after finishing second at the U.S. Figure Skating Championships. He is the first figure skater to be selected Sportsman of the Year by the USOC since Scott Hamilton 1981.

The U.S. four-man bobsled team of Steven Holcomb, Justin Olsen, Steve Mesler and Curtis Tomasevicz, which also won gold at the Vancouver Olympics, was honored as 2010 Team of the Year.

Alana Nichols, who won four medals in the alpine skiing sitting division at the Vancouver Paralympics, was the Paralympic Sportswoman of the Year. The gold medal-winning sled hockey team was the Paralympic Team of the Year and Taylor Chace, a member of the sled hockey team, was Paralympic Sportsman of the Year.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories