Five OSU players apologize for infractions

COLUMBUS, Ohio, Dec. 28 (UPI) -- Five Ohio State football players Tuesday apologized to the school and fans for actions that drew them five-game suspensions beginning next season.

The five juniors -- DeVier Posey, Mike Adams, Dan Herron, Terrelle Pryor and Solomon Thomas -- appeared at a news conference in Columbus as the Buckeyes prepared to meet Arkansas in the Jan. 4 Sugar Bowl.


The players will be allowed to play in the Sugar Bowl, but the NCAA ruled they must each begin serving the suspensions starting in 2011. They didn't take questions at the appearance but issued apologies to fans, alumni and their families, The (Cleveland) Plain Dealer reported.

"My selfish acts were very young and immature ... and I'm deeply sorry about it," quarterback Pryor said. "I didn't mean to bring any embarrassment to this great university."

The players were cited for selling OSU memorabilia, keepsakes and autographs, among other NCAA violations.

Only Posey, a wide receiver, indicated he would return to the Buckeyes for his senior season, the newspaper said.

Latest Headlines