Suzuki wins 10th consecutive Gold Glove

Nov. 9, 2010 at 4:22 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

ST. LOUIS, Nov. 9 (UPI) -- Seattle outfielder Ichiro Suzuki has won his 10th consecutive Gold Glove, it was announced Tuesday.

Suzuki is just the sixth player with win 10 Gold Gloves as an outfielder and only Roberto Clemente and Willie Mays, who each won 12 Gold Gloves, have won the award more among outfielders. Suzuki has won a Gold Glove each season since he joined the Mariners from Japan.

Seattle teammate Franklin Gutierrez and Tampa Bay's Carl Crawford won the other Gold Gloves for American League outfielders. It is the first such honor for both players.

New York Yankees won three of the four infield Gold Gloves. Shortstop Derek Jeter won his fifth Gold Glove and first baseman Mark Teixeira claimed his fourth. Second baseman Robinson Cano earned his first this season.

The award for third basemen went to Tampa Bay's Evan Longoria, who also won last year.

Minnesota catcher Joe Mauer was awarded his third consecutive Gold Glove and Chicago pitcher Mark Buehrle was given his second straight.

The Gold Gloves are determined by a vote of managers and coaches, who aren't allowed to vote for players on their own teams.

The National League Gold Glove awards are to be announced Thursday.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories