Skating hall to honor 1961 U.S. team

Sept. 14, 2010 at 3:17 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

COLORADO SPRINGS, Sept. 14 (UPI) -- The 1961 U.S. figure staking team, killed in a plane crash while headed to the world championships, will be inducted into the U.S. Figure Skating Hall of Fame.

A total of 18 skaters along with coaches, judges and family members were among the 73 people who died when Sabena Flight 548 crashed Feb. 15, 1961, near Brussels. The team was headed to the 1961 figure skating world championships in Prague.

"It is appropriate that on the eve of the 50th anniversary of the loss of the 1961 world team that it be the sole inductee into the U.S. Figure Skating Hall of Fame Class of 2011," Hall of Fame Chairman of Electors Lawrence Mondschein said in a release Tuesday.

The team will be inducted into the hall during ceremonies Jan. 28 at the 2011 U.S. Figure Skating Championships in Greensboro, N.C.

Those to be inducted include: Rhode Lee Michelson, Laurence R. Owen, Stephanie Westerfeld, Gregory Kelley, Bradley Lord, Douglas Ramsay, Ila Ray Hadley and Ray Hadley, Jr., Laurie Hickox and William Hickox, Maribel Y. Owen and Dudley S. Richards, Dona Lee Carrier and Roger Campbell, Patricia Dineen and Robert Dineen, Diane C. Sherbloom and Larry Pierce.

In addition, coaches Linda Hadley, William Kipp, Maribel Vinson Owen, Daniel C. Ryan, Edi Scholdan, William Swallender, as well as officials, judges and family members who died in the crash.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories