Rice, Smith lead Hall of Fame inductees

Aug. 8, 2010 at 11:21 AM
share with facebook
share with twitter

CANTON, Ohio, Aug. 8 (UPI) -- Jerry Rice and Emmitt Smith were among seven former NFL players inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame this weekend in Canton, Ohio.

Rice and Smith were inducted as first-year eligible players in ceremonies Saturday, while Russ Grimm, Rickey Jackson, John Randle, Dick LeBeau and Floyd Little joined them in the pro football shrine.

Rice is considered among the NFL's greatest receivers, a 13-time Pro Bowl selection over 20 seasons with San Francisco, Oakland and Seattle. He's the all-time leader by a wide margin in numerous categories, including receptions (1,549), yards (22,895) and touchdowns (197).

Smith is the NFL's all-time leading rusher with 18,355 yards who led the Dallas Cowboys to three Super Bowl wins.

Grimm was best known as a member of the Washington Redskins' offensive line nicknamed "The Hogs"; Jackson was a six-time Pro Bowl linebacker with New Orleans and San Francisco; and Randle was a sack specialist at defensive end for Minnesota and Seattle.

LeBeau and Little were legacy inductees. LeBeau played his entire career (1959-72) with the Detroit Lions and collected 62 interceptions, while Little racked up 6,323 rushing yards in his career with the Denver Broncos (1967-75).

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories