Ciccarelli heads Hockey Hall of Fame class

June 22, 2010 at 4:58 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

TORONTO, June 22 (UPI) -- Dino Ciccarelli headed the five-member class of 2010 inductees into the Hockey Hall of Fame announced Tuesday in Toronto.

Ciccarelli, 50, was a right-winger who totaled 1,200 points in 19 NHL seasons, from 1980-99, mostly with the Minnesota North Stars. He also played for Washington, Detroit, Tampa Bay and Florida.

Other players on this year's list of inductees are Cammi Granato and Angela James, while Jimmy Devellano and the late Daryl "Doc" Seaman were selected from the builder category.

Granato, 39, was the captain of the U.S. women's hockey team that won a gold medal at the 1998 Winter Olympics and has played in every world championship for the United States.

James, 45, played on four world championship teams for Canada.

Devellano, 67, is the senior vice president of the Detroit Red Wings and also is vice president of the Detroit Tigers.

Seaman, who died in January 2009 at age 86, was owner of the Calgary Flames and also was involved in the awarding of the 1988 Olympic Winter Games to Calgary, Alberta.

"The Hockey Hall of Fame is proud to welcome these five hockey legends as honored members," said Jim Gregory, a co-chairman of the hall's selection committee. "Their contributions to the game of hockey are well documented and their election to the Hockey Hall of Fame is richly deserved."

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories