Doubles players join Tennis Hall of Fame

March 1, 2010 at 12:23 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

NEWPORT, R.I., March 1 (UPI) -- Australian doubles specialists Todd Woodbridge and Mark Woodforde are among players selected for 2010 induction for the International Tennis Hall of Fame.

In addition to Woodbridge and Woodforde -- known as the "Woodies" -- doubles teammates Gigi Fernandez and Natasha Zvereva, along with Owen Davidson, Gigi Fernandez, Derek Hardwick and Brad Parks will join the hall in ceremonies July 10 in Newport, R.I., the Hall of Fame announced Monday.

The Woodies won 61 ATP doubles titles, including 11 major tournament championships. They were the first team to win Wimbledon five consecutive years (1993-97). Woodbridge and Woodforde also teamed for an Olympic gold medal in 1996 and took the silver in 2000.

Fernandez and Zvereva won 38 doubles tournaments, with 14 of the wins in Grand Slam events. They won six consecutive majors in 1992-93. Fernandez, from Puerto Rico, won doubles gold at the 1992 and 1996 Olympics while playing for the United States.

Davidson, another strong doubles player, was voted in in the Master Player category while Parks, a wheelchair tennis pioneer, and Hardwick, former chairman of the British Lawn Tennis Association, enter the hall as contributors.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories