Patriots, Colts lead NFL All-Decade team

Feb. 1, 2010 at 9:35 AM
share with facebook
share with twitter
1 of 2
| License Photo

MIAMI, Feb. 1 (UPI) -- Quarterbacks Peyton Manning and Tom Brady and coaches Bill Belichick and Tony Dungy were selected to the NFL's All-Decade Team for the 2000s.

Belichick led Brady and the New England Patriots to three Super Bowl championships in the decade while Dungy coached Manning and the Indianapolis Colts to the Super Bowl title after the 2006 season.

A panel of Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee members also tabbed running backs Shaun Alexander, Jamal Lewis, Edgerrin James and LaDainian Tomlinson with Lorenzo Neal as fullback. Antonio Gates and Tony Gonzalez were picked the team's tight ends and receivers Marvin Harrison, Torry Holt, Randy Moss and Terrell Owens were also named All-Decade.

The offensive line members are centers Kevin Mawae and Olin Kreutz; guards Larry Allen, Alan Faneca, Steve Hutchinson and Will Shields; and tackles Walter Jones, Jonathan Ogden, Orlando Pace and William Roaf.

On defense the committee honored ends Dwight Freeney, Julius Peppers, Michael Strahan and Jason Taylor; tackles La'Roi Glover, Warren Sapp, Richard Seymour and Kevin Williams; linebackers Derrick Brooks, Ray Lewis, Joey Porter, Zach Thomas, Brian Urlacher and DeMarcus Ware; cornerbacks Ronde Barber, Champ Bailey, Ty Law and Charles Woodson; and safeties Dawkins, Troy Polamalu, Ed Reed and Darren Sharper.

Specialists on the All-Decade Team are: punters Shane Lechler and Brian Moorman; kickers David Akers and Adam Vinatieri; and return specialists Dante Hall, Devin Hester and Joshua Cribbs.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories