College bowl season opens Saturday

Dec. 18, 2009 at 9:12 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

ALBUQUERQUE, Dec. 18 (UPI) -- The major college bowl season begins Saturday with the playing of the first two of the 33 games that will lead to the crowning of a national champion.

Action begins in Albuquerque with the New Mexico Bowl, which has a 4:30 p.m. ET kickoff and will send Wyoming against Fresno State.

Central Florida will meet Rutgers at 8 p.m. in the St. Petersburg Bowl.

There will be games played on 17 different days, culminating in the meeting of Alabama and Texas for the national title on Jan. 7 in Pasadena, Calif.

That will be one of two bowl games bringing together unbeaten teams. Boise State and Texas Christian, which also put together perfect regular seasons, will tangle in the Fiesta Bowl on Jan. 4.

In the other Bowl Championship Series games, Ohio State will play Oregon in the Rose Bowl, Florida will face unbeaten Cincinnati in the Sugar Bowl on New Year's Day and Iowa will meet Georgia Tech in the Orange Bowl on Jan. 5.

The Southeastern Conference will have the most teams participating, having put 10 of its 12 teams in bowl games. The Big 12 will have eight teams and the Big Ten will have seven.

The least represented conference will be the Sun Belt, which will have only Middle Tennessee and Troy in the bowl action.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories