Yzerman, four others join Hall of Fame

Nov. 9, 2009 at 10:24 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

TORONTO, Nov. 9 (UPI) -- Former NHL stars Steve Yzerman, Brett Hull, Brian Leetch and Luc Robitalle led the class of 2009 inductees Monday into the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Also joining the hall -- in the "builder" category -- was Lou Lamoriella, chief executive officer, president and general manager of the New Jersey Devils.

Yzerman, a nine-time all-star, led the Detroit Red Wings to three Stanley Cup championships.

"I need to thank the NHL for allowing me and all of the players to ply our trade," Yzerman said at the induction ceremony in Toronto. "I was fortunate to play with some of the greatest players ever, as is witnessed by the other three I am sharing this night with. There have been some great players over the history of the league, and to be considered in the same class as those guys really humbles me."

Hull, an eight-time all-star who played for Calgary, St. Louis, Dallas, Detroit and Phoenix, joined his father, Bobby Hull, in the hall.

Leetch, twice named the league's top defenseman, played for the New York Rangers, Toronto and Boston.

Robitaille was the highest-scoring left wing in NHL history. He played for the Los Angeles Kings, Pittsburgh, the New York Rangers and Detroit.

Trending Stories