Heisman finalists all win awards

Dec. 11, 2008 at 9:42 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

ORLANDO, Fla., Dec. 11 (UPI) -- Tim Tebow, Sam Bradford and Colt McCoy, the finalists for this year's Heisman Trophy, all walked off with key college football awards Thursday.

Bradford, who led Oklahoma to a berth in the BCS championship game against Florida, received the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award.

McCoy, the Texas quarterback whose team handed Oklahoma its only loss this year, won the Walter Camp Award. That honor is voted upon by coaches and sports information directors around the country and honors the top college football player of the year.

Tebow, Florida's quarterback and last year's Heisman and O'Brien winner, took home the Maxwell Award, which is handed out to the "most outstanding player."

The honors were announced during the College Awards Show at the Walt Disney Resort.

The fact the three finalists split the three prestigious awards is an indication the Heisman Trophy balloting this year was very close. The Heisman will be presented Saturday in New York.

Other players honored Thursday were:

-- Texas Tech's Michael Crabtree, who received the Biletnikoff (top wide receiver) Award for the second straight year.

-- Florida State's Graham Gano, given the Lou Groza (top placekicker) Award.

-- Ohio State's Malcolm Jenkins, who picked up the Jim Thorpe (top defensive back) Award.

-- Oklahoma State's Matt Fodge, recipient of the Ray Guy (top punter) Award.

-- Iowa's Shonn Greene, who won the Doak Walker (top running back) Award.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories