Maxwell Award finalists named

Nov. 24, 2008 at 9:44 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla., Nov. 24 (UPI) -- Quarterbacks Tim Tebow of Florida, Graham Harrell of Texas Tech and Colt McCoy of Texas were named Monday as Maxwell Award finalists.

The award goes annually to the nation's best all-around college football player.

Tebow, last season's Heisman Trophy winner, is an all-purpose offensive threat. The Florida Gators have scored 38, 51, 63, 49, 42, 56 and 70 points since their upset home loss to Ole Miss. Tebow has passed for 22 touchdowns with only two interceptions and run for 427 yards and 11 touchdowns this season.

Harrell has completed 70.5 percent of his passes with 39 touchdown tosses to just six interceptions.

McCoy has completed 77.2 percent of his passes with 30 touchdowns and run for 527 yards with eight touchdowns.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories