Rookie Wilson wins Detroit IndyCar race

Aug. 31, 2008 at 9:03 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

DETROIT, Aug. 31 (UPI) -- Rookie Justin Wilson led the final 15 laps Sunday and won the Detroit Indy Grand Prix by 4.4058 seconds over Helio Castroneves.

The victory was the first for Wilson in 15 IndyCar Series races.

Castroneves had led for 53 laps but relinquished the lead when he was penalized for blocking with 20 laps to go.

Tony Kanaan, Oriol Servia and Scott Dixon completed the top five.

"It's been a difficult year, but it's great to finally get a win," Wilson said.

Wilson joined Graham Rahal, Danica Patrick, Ryan Briscoe and Ryan Hunter-Reay as first-time winners on the circuit this season.

"I do not have anything smart to say right now," Castroneves said after the race.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories