NFL hall members to flock to Canton

July 17, 2008 at 4:11 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

CANTON, Ohio, July 17 (UPI) -- Nearly 70 NFL Hall of Fame members have committed to attend this year's induction ceremony on Aug. 2 at Canton, Ohio.

In a release Thursday, the hall said the number is on pace to represent one of the largest contingents of Hall of Famers to attend the annual enshrinement ceremony.

Members committed to attend include Troy Aikman, Terry Bradshaw, Dick Butkus, Len Dawson, Eric Dickerson, Dan Dierdorf, John Elway, Joe Gibbs, Michael Irvin, Jim Kelly, Ronnie Lott, Gale Sayers, Lynn Swann, Kellen Winslow and Buffalo Bills guard Joe DeLamielleure.

"I'd walk from my home in Charlotte to Canton if I had to," DeLamielleure said.

He has not missed the ceremony since he was enshrined in 2003.

The 2008 inductees will be former Washington Redskins Art Monk (wide receiver) and Darrell Green (defensive back), Kansas City's Emmitt Thomas (defensive back), New England's Andre Tippett (linebacker), and offensive tackle Gary Zimmerman (Minnesota, Denver).

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories