Aikman leads college hall of fame class

May 1, 2008 at 2:40 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

NEW YORK, May 1 (UPI) -- Pro Football Hall of Fame member Troy Aikman was among 15 people in the 2008 class to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Aikman, who played quarterback for Oklahoma and UCLA, was among 13 players selected along with coaches Lou Holtz and John Cooper will all be inducted in ceremonies Dec. 9 in New York. Enshrinement in the South Bend, Ind., hall itself was set for the summer of 2009.

The other players selected are: Louisiana State's Billy Cannon, Virginia's Jim Dombrowski, Northwestern's Pat Fitzgerald, Florida's Wilber Marshall, Washington State's Rueben Mayes, Arizona State's Randall McDaniel, Syracuse's Don McPherson, Wyoming's Jay Novacek, Texas Tech's Dave Parks, Florida State's Ron Simmons, Oklahoma State's Thurman Thomas and Army's Arnold Tucker.

Aikman, an NFL star with the Dallas Cowboys, won the Davey O'Brien Award as the nation's top collegiate quarterback in 1988 and led the Bruins to two bowl victories.

Holtz racked up 249 wins as a coach at six schools. He led Notre Dame to the national championship in 1988.

Cooper had a 192-84-6 record and 14 bowl game appearances over 24 seasons at Tulsa, Arizona State and Ohio State. He is second to Woody Hayes in wins at Ohio State.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories