The hard-throwing right-hander insists the pitch he threw to Ramirez during the seventh inning of the Yankees-Red Sox game Thursday slipped out of his hand.
"Intentionally, huh?" Farnsworth said on the Yankees' Web site. "The ball slipped, and as far as I know, I didn't hit him. If I'm going to hit somebody, it's not going to be in the head, that's for sure. I don't want to endanger anybody's career, and that's definitely not a hitter you throw at."
Under major league rules, Farnsworth was in uniform for the Yankees' series at Baltimore this weekend because he has appealed the suspension, assessed by Bob Watson, MLB's vice president of on-field operations.
No timetable has been set for settling the appeal process and Watson has not made any comment.