Hansbrough named college player of year

April 4, 2008 at 11:13 AM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

SAN ANTONIO, April 4 (UPI) -- North Carolina star Tyler Hansbrough was awarded the Oscar Robertson Trophy Friday as the nation's top college basketball player.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association presented the trophy at its annual college basketball awards breakfast in San Antonio.

Hansbrough has led the Tar Heels to 36 wins going into their game against Kansas in the NCAA Tournament semifinals Saturday.

Hansbrough.of Poplar Bluff, Mo., was named the top college freshman player by the basketball writers two years ago.

The North Carolina forward, who has averaged more than 23 points and 10 rebounds per game, was named Atlantic Coast Conference player-of-the-year this season.

Hansbrough is the fourth North Carolina player to win the Robertson trophy. The others were Phil Ford (1978), Michael Jordan (1984) and Antawn Jamison (1998).

Robertson, a member of basketball's Hall of Fame, was an all-America college player and all-star in the NBA. In 1996, he was named one of the 50 greatest players in NBA history.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories