Woods -- again -- wins McCormack Award

March 13, 2008 at 12:35 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
1 of 3
| License Photo

ORLANDO, Fla., March 13 (UPI) -- Tiger Woods has won his 10th consecutive Mark H. McCormack Award, given the golfer rated No. 1 in the world the most weeks in a calendar year.

Woods had no competition for the 2007 award since he was ranked No. 1 each week. Heading into this week's competition, Woods has been No. 1 in the world for 144 consecutive weeks. Overall, he's been on top of the rankings 486 times since he turned pro in 1996.

"Tiger has proven he is one of the all-time greats of the game," said PGA Tour Commissioner Tim Finchem. "Winning the McCormack Award for the 10th consecutive year is a testament to his work ethic and competitiveness to stay at No. 1 for such an extended period of time."

The award was created in 1998 -- Woods has won it every year since -- by the Governing Board of the Official World Golf Ranking to honor Mark H. McCormack for his role in creating a world ranking system for professional golf. McCormack founded IMG, a sports management and marketing firm in the early 1960s. He died in May 2003.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories