Monk among those on college hall ballot

March 11, 2008 at 4:02 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

NEW YORK, March 11 (UPI) -- Art Monk, who was selected for the Pro Football Hall of Fame this year, is one of 75 players on the ballot to join the College Football Hall of Fame.

Among the nominees, who include UCLA's Troy Aikman and Notre Dame's Tim Brown, in addition to Syracuse's Monk, eight coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision are on the 2008 nomination ballot.

The coaches are John Cooper, William "Lone Star" Dietz, Wayne Hardin, Lou Holtz, Dick MacPherson, Billy Jack Murphy, John Robinson and Darryl Rogers.

More than 12,000 members of the National Football Foundation vote in the first round of the selection process. The 11-member NFF Honor Court does the final selection.

Inductees are to be announced May 1 with formal induction ceremonies scheduled for the NFF awards dinner Dec. 9 followed by official enshrinement at the College Football Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind., in the summer of 2009.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories