Strange and Pak among six in Hall of Fame

Nov. 12, 2007 at 9:06 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

ST. AUGUSTINE, Fla., Nov. 12 (UPI) -- Back-to-back U.S. Open winner Curtis Strange and LPGA star Se Ri Pak were among six inductees Monday into the World Golf Hall of Fame.

Hubert Green, Kel Nagle, Charles Blair Macdonald and amateur Joe Carr also were inducted.

Strange, elected on the PGA Tour ballot, collected his first major championship at the 1988 U.S. Open. One year later, he became the first player to win consecutive U.S. Opens since Ben Hogan in 1951.

Strange finished with 17 PGA Tour victories, five Ryder Cup appearances and an individual NCAA Championship.

Pak, selected through the LPGA Point System, became the youngest person inducted, qualifying at age 29. She owns five major titles among her 24 LPGA Tour wins, which include the 2006 LPGA Championship and this year's Jamie Farr Owens Corning Classic.

Green won 19 times on the PGA Tour, including the 1977 U.S. Open and 1985 PGA Championship.

Macdonald built the first U.S. 18-hole course, helped found the U.S. Golf Association and won the first U.S. Amateur championship.

Carr, a major force in amateur golf in the 1940s through the 1960s, in 1967 became the first Irishman to play in the Masters.

Nagle, an Australian, won the British Open in 1960.

Trending Stories