Braun, Pedroia named rookies of the year

Nov. 12, 2007 at 3:02 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

NEW YORK, Nov. 12 (UPI) -- Boston's Dustin Pedroia and Milwaukee's Ryan Braun, respectively, were voted the American League and National League rookies of the year.

Braun edged Colorado's Troy Tulowitzki by two points for the NL award. The Brewers' third baseman was listed first on 17 of the 32 ballots, second on another 14 and third on one for a total of 128 points. Tulowitzki was second with 15 first-place votes and 17 second-place mentions for 126 points.

Braun hit .324 and led NL rookies with 34 home runs. He also drove in 97 runs.

Pedroia, the second baseman for the World Series champion Red Sox, hit .317 and made just six errors in winning the vote for AL rookie of the year.

He received 24 of 28 first-place votes and was second don the other four for a total of 132 points. Tampa Bay's Delmon Young was second with 56 points and Kansas City's Brian Bannister was third with 36.

The awards, named in honor of Jackie Robinson, are decided by a vote conducted by the Baseball Writers of America. Five points were given for a first-place vote, three for a second and one for third.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories