Earnhardt moving to Hendrick Motorsports

June 13, 2007 at 12:21 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

MOORESVILLE, N.C., June 13 (UPI) -- Dale Earnhardt Jr., who last month said he was leaving the racing team founded by his father, Wednesday said he would drive for Hendrick Motorsports.

Earnhardt announced in May that he was leaving Dale Earnhardt Inc. following a dispute with DEI's current leadership of his stepmother Teresa Earnhardt and Max Seigel.

Since then, Earnhardt has been linked with several teams but on Wednesday he said he was going with Hendrick next year.

"We talked with many teams but one stood out above the rest," Earnhardt said. "I feel like this decision will give me the opportunity to win and hopefully I can give the fans what they expect and deserve."

The 2008 Hendrick Motorsports team will include Earnhardt, Jeff Gordon, Jimmie Johnson and Casey Mears.

Earnhardt has driven for DEI since 1996, winning 17 races and finishing in the top 10 114 times in 269 starts. He was the Busch Series titles winner in 1998 and 1999.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories