Flutie tops Hall of Fame ballot

March 7, 2007 at 4:15 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

DALLAS, March 7 (UPI) -- Doug Flutie is one of 75 players and John Cooper is one of eight coaches up for selection this year to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Flutie, who won the Heisman Trophy in 1984 while playing quarterback at Boston College, is one of three winners of the award on this year's ballot. Notre Dame receiver Tim Brown (1987) and Miami (Fla.) quarterback Gino Torretta (1992) are also on the ballot.

Also on the ballot are Pro Football Hall of Fame members Troy Aikman, who played quarterback at UCLA, and Thurman Thomas, a running back from Oklahoma State.

Among coaches being considered are Cooper, who coached at Ohio State and Arizona State, and Darryl Rogers, who coached at Arizona State and Michigan State.

More than 12,000 National Football Foundation members are being mailed Hall of Fame ballots, with final selection up to the NFF's honors court. The 2007 Hall class is to be announced May 9 with formal induction set for Dec. 5.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories