Freshmen top Robertson Trophy finalists

Feb. 28, 2007 at 4:38 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

ST. LOUIS, Feb. 28 (UPI) -- Texas' Kevin Durant and Ohio State's Greg Oden, both freshmen, were listed among the five finalists for the nation's college basketball player of the year.

The award is called the Oscar Robertson Trophy and is voted on by members of the U.S. Basketball Writers Association.

In addition to Durant and Oden, finalists are North Carolina sophomore Tyler Hansbrough, Florida junior Joakim Noah and Wisconsin senior Alando Tucker.

Durant averages 24.7 points and 11.3 rebounds a game. Both statistics are among the top five in the country. Oden has averaged 15.3 points and 9.5 rebounds in helping the Buckeyes reach the No. 1 spot in the USA Today coaches' poll.

Hansbrough has scored 18.7 points and had 7.6 rebounds a game while Noah, who helped Florida to the national title last season, has chipped in 12 points and 8.1 rebounds a contest. Tucker is second in the Big Ten with a 19.9-point scoring average. The Oscar Robertson Trophy has been awarded annually since 1959. This year's award will be presented March 30 in Atlanta.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories