Ohio State's Troy Smith wins Heisman

Dec. 9, 2006 at 9:49 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

NEW YORK, Dec. 9 (UPI) -- Ohio State quarterback Troy Smith was the runaway winner of the 2006 Heisman Trophy in New York Saturday night.

Smith received 801 first-place votes and 2,540 points -- easily outdistancing Arkansas running back Darren McFadden and Notre Dame quarterback Brady Quinn, the other two finalists.

McFadden was second with 45 first-place votes and 878 points. Quinn had 13 first-place votes and 782 points.

Smith became the first Ohio State player to win the Heisman since Eddie George in 1995. The other Buckeye winners were Archie Griffin (1974 & 1975), Howard Cassady (1955), Vic Janowicz (1950) and Les Horvath (1944).

Smith finished the regular season with 2,507 passing yards, 30 touchdown passes and just five interceptions. He will lead the top-ranked Buckeyes against second-ranked Florida for the national title Jan. 8 in Glendale, Ariz.

McFadden, a sophomore, finished the regular season with a school-record 1,558 yards rushing. He scored 16 touchdowns and led Arkansas to the Southeastern Conference title game.

Arkansas plays Wisconsin Jan. 1 in the Capital One Bowl in Orlando, Fla.

Quinn, fourth in Heisman voting last year, passed for 3,278 yards with 35 touchdowns for a 10-2 Notre Dame team that will play LSU in the Sugar Bowl in New Orleans.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories