Calvin Johnson named top wide receiver

Dec. 8, 2006 at 5:54 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

ORLANDO, Fla., Dec. 8 (UPI) -- Georgia Tech's Calvin Johnson has won the 2006 Biletnikoff Award as the nation's top wide receiver.

Johnson made 59 catches for 899 yards and 13 touchdowns.

Other honors went to senior linebacker Paul Posluszny of Penn State, who won the Bednarik Award as the best collegiate defensive player in the nation; Art Carmody of Louisville for the 2006 Lou Groza award as the nation's top place-kicker; Arkansas tailback Darren McFadden, who earned the Doak Walker Award as the top running back; Baylor's Daniel Sepulveda, who made history by becoming the first two-time winner of the Ray Guy Award, given to the nation's best punter; Wisconsin senior offensive tackle Joe Thomas, who captured the 2006 Outland Trophy as the nation's top lineman; and Ohio State's Troy Smith, who captured both the Davey O'Brien Award, given to the top senior quarterback and the Walter Camp Foundation Player of the Year Award.

The honors were announced Thursday night in Orlando.

Trending Stories