Heisman Trophy finalists announced

Dec. 7, 2005 at 9:02 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

NEW YORK, Dec. 7 (UPI) -- USC quarterback Matt Leinart, running back Reggie Bush, and Texas quarterback Vince Young Wednesday were named finalists for the Heisman Trophy.

Leinart, last year's winner, will attempt to join former Ohio State running back Archie Griffin as the only two-time winner of the award. Last year, Leinart finished ahead of former Oklahoma quarterback Jason White.

This season, Leinart completed 254-of-391 passes for 3,450 yards and 27 touchdowns and seven interceptions while leading the Trojans to a perfect 12-0 regular season record.

Young, the quarterback for the second-ranked Longhorns, has gone 182-of-285 passing for 2,769 yards, 26 touchdowns and 10 interceptions. He added 850 yards rushing and nine scores on 136 attempts.

Bush gained 1,658 yards on 187 carries and scored 15 touchdowns. Including kickoff and punt returns and 31 pass receptions for 383 yards, Bush, a junior, has compiled 2,611 all-purpose yards.

The winner will be announced Saturday in New York.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories