AFC honors James, Burgess, Sauerbrun

Nov. 3, 2005 at 7:30 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

NEW YORK, Nov. 3 (UPI) -- Indianapolis' Edgerrin James, Oakland's Derrick Burgess and Denver's Todd Sauerbrun have been named AFC Offensive Player of the Month for October.

James had 477 rushing yards and six touchdowns as the Colts remained unbeaten at 7-0. James, a seven-year veteran, leads the NFL in rushing yards (801), and his per game average of 119.3 yards is tops in the conference through eight weeks.

Burgess, a free agent who played for Philadelphia last season, averaged two sacks per contest in a three-week stretch as the Raiders went 3-1 in October. Sauerbrun had a 45.3-yard gross punting average in five games, and 11 of his 28 punts landed inside the opponent's 20-yard line.

The AFC's rookie honor went to Pittsburgh Steelers tight end Heath Miller, who made 17 receptions for 184 yards and five touchdowns.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories