Ryan Newman captures the Dover 200

Sept. 24, 2005 at 7:15 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

DOVER, Del., Sept. 24 (UPI) -- Ryan Newman won the Dover 200 Busch race Saturday for his fourth consecutive Busch Series win.

His No. 39 Dodge crossed the finish line 1.343 seconds ahead of runner-up Clint Bowyer.

Newman set a track record by leading 193 laps and tied the consecutive win mark set in 1983 by Sam Ard.

Jason Leffler, Reed Sorenson and Greg Biffle completed the top-five.

Late-race tire problems for Martin Truex Jr. mean he will go to the next race with just a 26-point lead over Bowyer (4,063-4,037). That race will take place at the Kansas Speedway on Oct. 8.

In lap three, when Matt Kenseth was spun out, nine cars were eliminated: Kenseth, Jeff Burton, Mark Green, Donnie Neuenberger, Randy LaJoie, Michael Waltrip, Johnny Sauter, David Green and Kevin Hamlin. The race was red-flagged for the lengthy clean-up period.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories