2004 Doak Walker candidates announced

Aug. 31, 2004 at 6:52 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

DALLAS, Aug. 31 (UPI) -- The SMU Athletic Forum Tuesday announced the 42 candidates for the 2004 Doak Walker Award, presented to the nations's top college running back.

Among the favorites are Kansas State senior Darren Sproles, a finalist for the 2003 award who last season led the nation in total rushing yards with 1,915; Senior Cedric Benson of Texas who has more career rushing yards than any other returning back with 3,706; Syracuse senior Walter Reyes; and Memphis junior DeAngelo Williams.

Semifinalists will be named Nov. 15, voted upon by former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

Michigan's Chris Perry, now with the Cincinnati Bengals, won the 2003 Doak Walker Award.

This will be the 15th time for the award, presented by SMU in honor of its three-time All-America running back.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories