Racing Hall of Fame inductees announced

May 25, 2004 at 10:59 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

SARATOGA SPRINGS, N.Y., May 25 (UPI) -- Trainer Shug McGaughey, jockey Kent Desormeaux, and Thoroughbred champions Skip Away and Flawlessly are inductees to racing's Hall of Fame.

The National Museum of Racing's Hall of Fame, in Saratoga Springs, N.Y., announced Tuesday the 2004 class of inductees chosen by the 140 members of the racing media

The new members will be inducted Aug. 9 at the Fasig-Tipton Sales Pavilion in Saratoga Springs, N.Y.

McGaughey spent most of his career as a trainer for the Phipps Family stable and trained eight champions, including the unbeaten Personal Ensign and Belmont Stakes winner Easy Goer.

Jockey Kent Desormeaux has won 4,419 races from 22,191 mounts and earned $169,217,481, including the Kentucky Derby on Real Quiet and Fusaichi Pegasus and the Preakness on Real Quiet.

Skip Away, owned by Carolyn Hine and trained by her husband, Sonny Hine, was Horse of the Year in 1998. He won 18 of 38 races and earned $9,616,360.

Flawlessly was champion grass mare in 1992 and 1993. She was bred and raced by Louis Wolfson's Harbor View Farm, won 16 of 28 races, and earned $2,572,536.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories