NFL schedule released

April 14, 2004 at 8:57 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

NEW YORK, April 14 (UPI) -- The NFL announced its 17-week, 256-game regular season schedule Wednesday, one that will kick off Sept. 9 with New England hosting Indianapolis.

The traditional Thanksgiving Day doubleheader will feature Peyton Manning and the Colts at Detroit with Dallas hosting Chicago. Dallas will also play the final regular season Sunday night game, visiting the New York Giants.

A Friday afternoon game will be held on Dec. 24 when Green Bay visits Minnesota.

For the first time since the 1971 playoffs, there will be an NFL doubleheader on Christmas Day. The Kansas City Chiefs host the Oakland Raiders at 5:30 p.m. EST and the Tennessee Titans meet the Denver Broncos at 8:00 p.m. EST.

Because of college bowl games on Saturday, Jan. 1, all NFL games over the New Year's weekend will be played on Sunday, Jan. 2.

The Patriots will be on prime time four times, including two Monday night games.

The Cincinnati Bengals will host a Monday night game for the first time in 15 years when they play the Denver Broncos on Oct. 25.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories